The week of 2026-04-27, 7 companies reported an exit or restructuring plan on Form 8-K under Item 2.05, and the 1 that state a number of employees put it at 170 in total. States published 5 WARN notices dated that week.
SEC filings
| Filed | Company | Employees | In the filing's words | Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-04-28 | Vertex, Inc. | 170 | “The Plan includes a reduction in force of approximately 170 employees, representing approximately 9% of the Company's global workforce as of April 27, 2026.” | 8-K |
| 2026-05-01 | COLGATE PALMOLIVE CO | — | not stated in one sentence | 8-K |
| 2026-05-01 | Cboe Global Markets, Inc. | — | not stated in one sentence | 8-K |
| 2026-05-01 | Origin Materials, Inc. | — | not stated in one sentence | 8-K |
| 2026-04-29 | Autolus Therapeutics plc | — | “This plan will implement a reduction in force whereby the Company will eliminate approximately 13% of the Company's workforce, inclusive of employee-related actions that began in the second half of 2025.” | 8-K |
| 2026-04-28 | Passage BIO, Inc. | — | not stated in one sentence | 8-K |
| 2026-04-28 | IAC Inc. | — | not stated in one sentence | 8-K |
WARN notices
| Company | Notice | Where | Employees | Type | Effective | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KLEO Community Family Life Center | 2026-04-29 | Chicago, IL | 65 | closure | 2026-06-30 | IL file |
| Maersk | 2026-05-01 | Lakewood, WA | 44 | closure, permanent | 2026-06-30 | WA file |
| UnityPoint Health | 2026-05-01 | Rock Island, IL | 18 | layoff | 2026-07-24 | IL file |
| Jack in the Box | 2026-04-27 | Anacortes, WA | 14 | closure, permanent | 2026-06-23 | WA file |
| Maersk | 2026-05-01 | Sumner, WA | 5 | layoff, permanent | 2026-06-30 | WA file |
Tools for this story
Each opens in a new tab. With no account yet, you sign up free and land on the result.
Public companies must also report to the SEC, on Form 8-K under Item 2.05, when they commit to an exit or restructuring plan that will cost them material charges, which is how most large layoffs and closures by listed companies are disclosed. Those filings are national, so they cover companies in every state. Each sentence shown from one is quoted exactly and linked to the filing; where a filing does not state a figure, none is shown.
Where this comes from
Employers covered by the federal WARN Act, and by the stricter laws some states add, must give written notice before a mass layoff or a site closure. The state labor department publishes those notices. Every row here is one of them, taken from that state's own published file and linked to it, so each figure can be checked at the source.
A notice states the employer, the location, the number of employees affected, and when the layoff or closure takes effect. It does not state a reason, and neither does this page. Where a company also appears in SEC filings under the same name and in the same state, its recorded fundraising is shown alongside, as a matter of record rather than as an explanation. New Jersey publishes the month a notice was posted, not the day, so New Jersey notices show a month.
All recent layoffsPrevious weekNext week
Cite this page
https://mentionfox.com/layoffs/week/2026-18