Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LP
New Form D on file · 2026-09-09 · the record
What the record says
Everything on the record so far — 2026-09-03 to 2026-09-09. This window lengthens as filings accumulate; it is not yet a year. 171 filings in Hedge Fund, totalled by day. The dot is this raise, $28.43M, on the same scale — one filing against the whole group's total, so it sits low by construction.
Where this sits on the site
Use of proceeds, as written on the filing
Customary advisory fees are paid to the General Partner as provided for in the Issuer's offering materials.
Company officers on record
On the filing as: Executive Officer.
Michael Herzig is named as Managing Member of Gardenia Advisors Llc, the Issuer's General Partner. on the Form D that Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LP filed with the SEC on 9 September 2026, the only person that filing names.
1 person named on the filing — 1 holding an executive role.
Named as of the 2026-09-09 filing. Titles and locations are exactly as the filing states — not independently confirmed elsewhere.
Also named on the filing
| Entity | Stated role | Relationship on the filing | Where |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gardenia Advisors LLC | The General Partner of the Issuer. | Promoter | New York, NEW YORK |
These are companies, not individuals — the filing gives them no forename, or names them as a firm. They are listed apart so a firm is never read as a person.
Against the 171 raises on file in Hedge Fund. Median $48.51M, largest $9.24B.
Interest Score
Every component below is a field already shown elsewhere on this page.
| Component | What it read | Adds |
|---|---|---|
| Raise size against its industry group | 37th percentile of 171 raises on file | 18 (up to 50) |
| People named on the filing | 1 person named | 8 (up to 30) |
| Investors already in | 31 stated on the filing | 20 (up to 20) |
| Filings on record for this issuer | no filing history read yet | not scored |
| Raise cadence | no filing history read yet | not scored |
| Score | 46 out of 100 | |
Each component adds up to the share of 100 shown beside it, and one this kind of record cannot carry is left out rather than counted as zero, because a Form D has no field for a website, a repository or a team size. It measures how much publicly checkable activity surrounds this record today. It is not growth, not traction, not quality, and it is not a prediction.
How does your raise compare?
Enter an amount to place it against the filings on record.
Percentiles are drawn from the 906 Form D filings held here that state an amount, filed between 3 and 9 September 2026 — 876 of them in the 17 industry groups large enough to rank against (5 filings minimum).
The nearest raises on file in the same industry group (Hedge Fund), side by side with this one.
| Rank | Company | Score | Raise size | Filed | People named | Investors in | Form D cadence | Filing history |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LPthis pageleads | 58 | $28.43M · 37th pctadds 14 | 2026-09-09 · 2d agoadds 23 | 1adds 6 | 31adds 15 | not stated | not stated |
| 1 | GenOpp Financial Fund LPleads | 58 | $27.07M · 36th pctadds 14 | 2026-09-03 · 8d agoadds 23 | 1adds 6 | 38adds 15 | 7not scored | 7 since 2020not scored |
| 3 | DOUBLE EAGLE OFFSHORE CAPITAL ACE FUND LTD | 55 | $27.20M · 36th pctadds 14 | 2026-09-08 · 3d agoadds 23 | 1adds 6 | 13adds 12 | 57not scored | 63 since 2009not scored |
| 4 | Byreforge Master Fund, LP | 49 | $30M · 38th pctadds 15 | 2026-09-03 · 8d agoadds 23 | 2adds 6 | 1adds 5 | 1not scored | 1 since 2026not scored |
| 4 | Byreforge Offshore Feeder Fund, LP | 49 | $30M · 38th pctadds 15 | 2026-09-03 · 8d agoadds 23 | 2adds 6 | 1adds 5 | 1not scored | 1 since 2026not scored |
| 6 | AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series J74 | 42 | $26.22M · 35th pctadds 14 | 2026-09-03 · 8d agoadds 23 | 0adds 0 | 1adds 5 | 1not scored | 1 since 2026not scored |
A score out of 100 comparing what each company's record shows for raise size within its industry group, filing recency, people named on the filing and investors disclosed.
- Raise size within its industry groupup to 39
- Filing recencyup to 23
- People named on the filingup to 23
- Investors disclosedup to 15
- Form D cadence and filing history depthshown, not scored
- 75 and up
- 55 to 74
- 35 to 54
- under 35
| Company | On the record | Industry group | Filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| DOUBLE EAGLE OFFSHORE CAPITAL ACE FUND LTD | $27.20M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-08 |
| GenOpp Financial Fund LP | $27.07M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| Byreforge Offshore Feeder Fund, LP | $30M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| Byreforge Master Fund, LP | $30M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series J74 | $26.22M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| Avos Titus Fund, LLC | $30.82M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-08 |
| Redwheel Frontier Markets Equity Fund LP | $26M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-09 |
| Thorpe Abbotts Global Flagship Fund, LP | $25.96M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-09 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series J73 | $25.74M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| DOUBLE EAGLE CAPITAL ACE FUND LP | $25.41M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-08 |
| Butler Hall Capital LP | $31.60M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series F17 | $25.21M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series F20 | $25.02M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series F12 | $25M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series F16 | $25M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series F64 | $24.87M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series D14 | $32.12M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| Double Eagle Capital Medalist Fund LP | $32.31M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-08 |
| CastleKnight Access Fund Ltd. | $24.14M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-08 |
| SPI MLP & ENERGY FUND, L.P. | $24.12M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-04 |
| CF GLOBAL 10 LP | $24.02M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-09 |
| CONCENTRIC CAPITAL STRATEGIES FUND, LP | $33.70M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-04 |
| AQR Flex 1 Series LLC - Series F19 | $35M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-03 |
| DOUBLE EAGLE OFFSHORE CAPITAL ACE FUND LTD | $35.56M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-08 |
| CF GLOBAL 12 LP | $35.64M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-09 |
| Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LP (this page) | $28.43M | Hedge Fund | 2026-09-09 |
170 other records here are in this industry group; the 25 nearest are in the table.
- 1 person named on the filing — 1 holding an executive role.
- Bigger than 3 of the 5 comparable raises it is charted against — 60th percentile.
No investor is drawn from a Form D — the form states how many invested and never who.
The full profile
Source Check, INVEST, RECRUIT and Press Requests on Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LP
- Source Check — verify Michael E. Herzig's other claims against the registers that hold them.
- INVEST — compare this raise against the peers above, on the numbers.
- RECRUIT — see who is already on the team.
- Press Requests — connect with Michael E. Herzig for a story.
You land back on this company when you are in.
Not ready to upgrade? Keep this one in view instead.
Watchlist Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LPYou get an alert in MentionFox the next time this company shows up.
Is this you?
If you're behind Gardenia Japan Opportunity Fund, LP: the weeks after a raise are watched the same way — by other investors sizing you up, and by founders checking who just got funded. FoxPlug turns your commits, deploys, and releases into that story automatically. FoxChat puts a guide on your own site so the people this filing just sent you don't leave after one page.
Sourced from the filing index on sec.gov.
